In Conversation with Aashka Bansal

“ When I got into the University of Delhi, I was very scared about adjusting to a new place without any family or friends. I was worried about making new friends, and whether I would even be able to make some in the first place. But fate had something else in store for me.

When my parents and I were searching for a PG, we met four girls from my college who were pursuing a different course. Their warm and welcoming nature convinced me to stay there right away. As time passed by, we found ourselves getting comfortable with each other’s company and realised that we had each other’s back.

In the year that we have spent together, I feel so good that we went from being strangers to becoming each other’s confidantes – and we are still growing closer. We are so happy to experience many of our firsts together. From hanging out with each other to having movie nights together, to completing assignments together, as well as ranting about college, we do a lot together. 

My favourite part of the day is when we sit at the dining table and patiently hear about each other’s day. When I think of the time we would graduate, I wonder how much I will miss laughing my lungs out at Anushka’s stories of ‘Basanti Mahal’. I don’t know what the future holds for us or where we will be. But, I am sure about one thing – if I ever reminisce about Delhi or college, these four girls will be the first to come to my mind.

‘Home away from home’ for some people might be a place where they go for a vacation, for some it might be their grandparents’ place or their workplace, and for some, it may be their university. I found my home away from home with four people. ” 

Aashka Bansal is a second-year student of Economics at Indraprastha College for Women.

Leave a comment