In Conversation with Vrinda Gupta

“  It was during the pandemic that our family decided to get a dog. As thrilled as I was, I was also unaware of the responsibilities that would accompany taking care of a pet. Being a nerdy XII-grade student from a science background, my priority had always been academics. Due to this, I was never given major responsibilities in my house. Maybe, this is the reason everything changed when Mylo, my dog, came into my life.

When Mylo was a baby, he was extremely naughty and he never sat in one place; he could always be found chewing on slippers or making a mess here and there. Sleep was improbable for him. Since he was always so excited and energetic, I had to constantly keep an eye on him. At one point I wanted to send him away to some other family. Well, I know I should not defend myself here, but human emotions are complex. Even the kindest person may be compelled to act selfishly at times. 

Two months passed and my entire family was frustrated. More than three pairs of expensive earphones had been damaged and six new pairs of the cheapest slippers had to be bought because of Mylo’s teething problems. Mylo became more active as he grew, but my parents were not young and energetic enough to properly care for him. It compelled my sister and me to do all the work. We had to try different ways of managing him so that he did not become a burden to our family.

My Economics teacher was also my mother’s close friend. I remember that one day in school, she came up to me and asked if I would like to give Mylo away to her friend’s family. As much trouble as I was having in adjusting to Mylo at that time, deep down I knew I had already developed a soft corner for him. After hearing that question, I realised how important he had become to me. I imagined life from his point of view. He was only 30 days old when he was separated from his mother, he never had a chance to choose his family and he could not communicate with us. All that he had was ‘us’. Believe me, that day I cried a lot. I thought about how selfish and mean I had become that I was willing to take away his comfort for mine. That day, I decided to care for Mylo for the rest of my life.

It’s been two years and my relationship with Mylo has taken a 360-degree turn. We still have a love-hate relationship, but now there is more love than hate. Sometimes, it seems unbelievable how a small animal can be so intelligent. He is able to recognize whenever I am sad or sick and comes to sit tightly right by me, not leaving a centimetre gap. Also, he starts acting notoriously to grab our attention to get love and cuddles.

Even today, Mylo and I argue a lot. When I yell at him, he just turns away to sleep peacefully, because deep down he knows I love him with all my heart. It is because of him that I have gone through a series of emotional changes. I have learned how to be patient and more understanding. Moreover, I have developed a maternal instinct for him that cannot be explained through words. I love going on walks with him, sharing every snack with him, giving him baths, and not to forget, defending him when people complain about his constant barking and hyper nature. He is family now, and once someone becomes a part of the family, compromises don’t feel like sacrifices.

Well, change is inevitable. It may have felt unbearable at first, but my experience with Mylo has made me realise that time can heal everything. We just need to accept reality and relax. I can write a thesis on Mylo, that’s how obsessed I am with him, but I feel I should stop here; until next time.  ”

Vrinda Gupta is a second-year student of Economics at Indraprastha College for Women.

Leave a comment