In Conversation with Diksha Balot

“I hail from ‘Khwaja ki Nagari’, the oldest city of Rajasthan. Famous for its thrilling cultural extravaganza, people come to my city with lot of hopes in their hearts. I never hoped that a girl like me, who belongs to a proper Marwadi family, where girls are not allowed to step outside their homes without a ghunghat, would come to Delhi to pursue her graduation.

Until a few years back, my family and I did not even know an institution like Delhi University existed. I remember my fellow mates, saying that Delhi University is their dream university. I did not dream of it because we usually dream of a place which exists for us but Delhi University never existed for me.

Here, the time to come out of my shell, and the journey of a new beginning started. In May 2017, my father visited my uncle’s place in Delhi after coming from the pilgrimage of Vaishno Devi. My uncle came like an angel in my life. He informed us about DU admissions and helped in filling the admission form. I got DRC first, but unfortunately, I was unable to convince my grandfather, who is the Karta of our house, to let me go to Delhi for higher studies. Life gave me another chance and I got  IPCW. This time, my mom and dad stood against my grandfather and insisted to send me to Delhi. Finally, I came to Delhi, and luckily I got a hostel which eventually became my second home. Initially getting admission into an all-girls college made me feel weird and frustrated. But gradually, all this frustration turned into a love for my college.

A new chapter of my life unfolds. The college is that place where I have found ‘Real Diksha’, who in her pyjamas ventures out with no restrictions and adding on to her beauty further wears a smile on the face just like a necklace. A girl who had never gone to a nearby place alone, now, with her two luggage bags in hands is doing the train journeys independently. This is a point where I have felt my inner strength. In Delhi, I met people of different thoughts, culture and identities. Here, I have learnt to accept people without any judgements and ifs&buts. I have recognised that it is fine to have different opinions about an issue and have learnt to talk about them freely. A few months back, in a family function, my grandfather introduced me to our family friends with so much pride in his eyes and said, “She is my granddaughter and she is studying in Delhi”. At that moment, I felt that this is the real growth.

My college has taught me to adore myself. It has turned me from a shy girl, with self-doubts and without any opinion into a person who now loves her flaws and glows just like the moon with scars, still beautiful in its way. I have realized once we are comfortable with as we are, it doesn’t matter what others think about us. Our degree and marks matter, but what is more important is that we love and respect ourselves. 

I believe, “Be who you are, and find yourself so you can be your own person and enjoy life with no regret.”

Diksha Balot is a third-year student of Economics at IP College for Women, DU.

Leave a comment